Prof Ernest Rutter

Professor of Structural Geology and Geomechanics. BSc, PhD, DIC, ARSM, C.Geol. Fellow of the American Geophysical Union, Lyell Medal 1999, Neel Medal 2011. Ernie has over 40 years experience in equipment design and construction, and mechanical and physical properties testing of a wide range of rock types at high pressures and temperatures.


Dr Julian Mecklenburgh

Lecturer in structural geology. BSc, PhD. Julian is a structural geologist and geophysicist specialising in rock deformation and rock physics. Particular research focus is on rheology, crystallographic preferred orientation, grain boundary sliding and shale petrophysics and geomechanics.


Dr Rochelle Taylor

PDRA in shale petrophysics and geomechanics. MESci, PhD. Rochelle's research focus is on assessing the effect of fracture orientation and intensity on elastic properties of rocks, using photogrammetric techniques to create 3D meshes and apply stereological corrections to the fracture matrix, and shale petrophysics and geomechanics through laboratory analyses.

Dr Kate Brodie

Senior Lecturer in Petrology, BSc, PhD, DIC. Kate has 40 years experience in electron-optical imaging and analysis using transmission and scanning electron microscopy on both experimentally and naturally deformed rocks.

Prof Kevin Taylor

Professor of Petroleum and Sedimentary Geoscience, BSc, PhD. Kevin has over 20 years experience of research into unconventional reservoirs of oil and gas, with particular interest in sedimentary geochemistry and diagenesis.

▲ Up to the top